Decoding investor behaviour: Bridging the disconnect between hope and reality

The Legg Mason Global Investment Survey has been taking the pulse of investors worldwide for the past five years. Our goal is to better understand investors' hopes and fears, their financial dreams and realities, as well as what is influencing their behaviour - from the Global Financial Crisis to changing technology.

This year we found investors who are:

  • more optimistic about investment opportunities but still impacted by the long shadow of the Global Financial Crisis;
  • increasingly turning to technology to help them organise their finances and make investment decisions, but who still want to know there is a human behind the machine; and
  • not entirely sure what they need to retire comfortably, but feel that they have not quite met their goals.

This year's survey reached 15,300 investors in 17 countries across Europe, Asia Pacific, Latin America and the US - ensuring samples that are representative of the population of each country.

This programme will explore three key themes, at both the global and country level, over the course of 2017:

  • Perceptions vs Reality,
  • Humans vs Machines and
  • Youth vs Experience.

We aim to provide you with insight into not only investors' motivations, biases and behaviour, but also the fast-changing world which they must navigate.

Perception vs Reality:Is fear driving investor behaviour?

Investing must always be a balance between taking risk to secure your desired return and being cautious to protect your capital. Finding the right balance is tricky - and that place of balance will vary among investors.

But our survey found a worrying gap between investors' perceptions and the reality of their situations - usually underestimating the risk inherent in their investment choices. While this caution seems warranted considering the heavy losses many investors experienced in the Global Financial Crisis, now that markets have recovered investors may be more at risk of not taking advantage of the opportunities that are now on offer and hurting their long-term potential for strong returns.

Here we explore investors' perceptions - the biases that influence them, the forces that shape their behaviour - and the reality of their investment decisions.

What is the extent of influence of the Global Financial Crisis and subsequent recession on your saving and investment decisions?

  • Still strongly influenced
  • Still somewhat influenced
  • Not at all influenced
  • Don't know

Gone but not forgotten

Despite one of the longest bull markets in memory, the Global Financial Crisis and the ensuing Great Recession may have permanently changed investor thinking. Millennials are now investing more like their Depression-era grandparents than their Boomer parents – despite their optimism about the future. What do these changes hold for the future of financial markets worldwide?


Risk is on

After a decade of gloom in which investors mostly wanted to protect capital and invested in low, even negatively yielding bonds, they now seem to have woken up: 37% are planning to take on more risk in their portfolios this year. The investment options they are considering, however, are only a small portion of the global investment universe.


How optimistic are you for your investments over the coming 12 months?(%)


Humans vs Machines:Is technology really the silver bullet?

Technology is changing every aspect of our lives, and how we manage our finances and make investment decisions are not immune to this trend.

The increased use of online resources for information, of apps to help us manage our money and of products that invest our money on the basis of algorithms rather than human judgement are fundamentally changing the world of personal finance and investment.

Our survey found that while investors are increasingly open to relying on technology, they still desire the human touch. They want to know that there is a human behind the machine, guiding its application and providing the customer service that a machine never can.

Here we explore how the combination of humans and machines are working together to create the user experience and investment outcomes that today's investors now expect.

Do you agree with the following statements?

The human touch: Irreplaceable

The charge toward automation of large swaths of the investment business threatens to leave customers cold, with most favouring human interaction for the giving of financial advice and assistance with making critical investment decisions. Though technology for activities such as research and execution is accepted by many, a strong majority still favours purely human – or technology-assisted human interactions. Surprisingly, this is also true of Millennials, despite their reputations as natives of the digital world.


Technology game: EMs 1 – DMs 0

Emerging market investors - led by Asian millennials - are well ahead of the curve in terms of technology use when making or executing investment decisions. Technological empowerment is crucial in a fast-changing world, but so is the need for professional advice, which, according to the survey, will never die.


Do you use websites or apps for these areas of personal finance? (%)


Youth vs Experience:Will millennials be better prepared for retirement?

The Baby Boom generation is thought to have had it all - years of equity and bond market bull runs, getting on the property ladder before prices rocketed, and benefitting from defined benefit pension schemes, guaranteeing them a level of security in retirement.

For Gen Xers and Millennials, the goal of a comfortable retirement seems further out of reach, and secondary to more pressing financial goals such as paying off student debt and owning their own home.

Yet our survey found that far from being in or approaching retirement with life goals met and financial security attained, Baby Boomers say they have many goals unmet and are worried that they will not have the income they need for a comfortable retirement.

Here we explore why Baby Boomers find themselves in this predicament, what they can do to improve their situations and how Gen Xers and Millennials can avoid falling into the same traps.

Thinking about your retirement goals, which have you achieved and which have you yet to achieve? (%)

Not yet achieved Not yet achieved
Already achieved Already achieved
Airplane 0

Travel extensively

Piggy bank 0

Enjoy a good retirement income

Bill 0

Maintain pre-retirement standard of living

Globe 0

Live abroad

Palm tree 0

Have a holiday home

Coins 0

Be debt-free

Cardiogram 0

Have access to good healthcare

Businessman 0

Keep working / I don’t want to retire

Tree 0

Volunteer for good causes and charities

Airplane 0

Travel extensively

How real is the global retirement crisis?

Experts around the world worry that investors are not saving enough for retirement, and may not be taking the risks necessary to close the gap. Are things really that dire? Our survey indicates that savings in DC plans are well behind what investors are likely to need later in life – yet, surprisingly, on track with expectations in all but a handful of countries.


Not so rockin’ retirement

Baby Boomers may have had it all in their youth, but many have yet to achieve basic retirement goals like being debt-free. Younger generations can learn from the Boomer experience, but they also face a much different investment landscape. They must act now, while time is on their side.


Retirement goal: Make sure that I am debt-free


Hong Kong findings

Fewer concerns for the year ahead

Hong Kong respondents have become much less pessimistic about the world’s economies, as well as about their own, since the beginning of 2017. At the start of the year, 60% were concerned about the world’s economies, vs. 43% for the GIS Pulse survey in August.

Percentage of respondents concerned about economies in Hong Kong and the rest of the world, and global political instability, January vs. August 2017

Seeking balance in a global economy

Respondents in Hong Kong have a history of active engagement with global economies, and are some of the world’s most seasoned participants. So it’s little surprise that only 9% of Hong Kong respondents polled in August’s Legg Mason Global Investment Survey Pulse are planning to “do nothing and hope for the best” over the next 12 months.


Moving up the risk spectrum

Hong Kong investors score the second highest in the world for the amount of extra risk they expect to increase in the year ahead. 11% expect to add 'much more risk' and 45% expect to add 'a little more risk'.

Percentage of investors expecting to take on more risk in the coming 12 months

An antidote for pessimism

Higher levels of equity allocations compared to Asian and global averages, coupled with a more aggressive than average approach marks out Hong Kong investors as special. And yet Hong Kongers are pessimistic about investment performance in the year ahead. Could this be due to a lack of risk diversification?



Market Sample size
United States Total: n=900
High net worth: n=275
Europe (UK, France, Spain, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden) Total: n=7,200
High net worth: n=1,371
Asia (Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan, Taiwan, China) Total: n=4,500
High net worth: n=1,230
Latin America (Brazil, Mexico) Total: n=1,800
High net worth: n=260
Australia Total: n=900
High net worth: n=306

This year's survey reached 15,300 investors in 17 countries across Europe, Asia Pacific, Latin America and the US - ensuring samples that are representative of the population of each country. Respondents are aged 18-74, have some income, are employed (unless retired) and are the sole or joint decision-maker for household investment decisions. Fieldwork was conducted through an online panel between January 12th and February 10th 2017. The high net worth criteria in the U.S was set at $225,000+ in investable assets and individual country equivalents were set. Of the total sample, 3442 qualified as high net worth. There was also a fairly even split between the generations: 5,116 Millennials (18-35), 4,898 Gen X (36-52), 4,925 Baby Boomers (53-71).

GIS Pulse 2017 reached 4,595 investors respondents in 7 countries/markets, include United Kingdom, Italy, Germany, Hong Kong, China, Brazil and Australia) - ensuring samples that are representative of the population of each country. Respondents are aged 18-74, have some income, are employed (unless retired) and are the sole or joint decision-maker for household investment decisions. Fieldwork was conducted through an online panel between 9 August and 30 August 2017. The high net worth criteria in the U.S. was set at US$225,000+ in investable assets and individual country equivalents were set. Of the total sample, 1,389 qualified as high net worth. There was also a fairly even split between the generations: 1,618 Millennials (18-35), 1,629 Gen X (36-52), 1,294 Baby Boomers (53-71).

Cicero Research:

The research was conducted by Cicero Research, a leading consultancy firm servicing clients in the financial and professional services sector. Cicero specialises in providing integrated public policy and communications consulting, global thought leadership programs and independent market research. Cicero was established in 2001, and now operates from offices in London and Brussels.


Source: Legg Mason Global Asset Management. This document is for information only and is not intended to provide investment advice. All data, opinions, estimates and other information are provided as of the date of this document and may be subject to change without notice. Where past performance is quoted, such figures are not indicative of future performance. This document does not constitute an offer or solicitation to buy or sell any units or shares in any fund. Investors intending to subscribe for any units or shares of a fund should refer to the Fund’s most current offering document. INVESTMENT INVOLVES RISKS. Please refer to the offering documents for further details, including the risk factors.

Any views expressed are opinions of the respective investment affiliates as of the date of this document and are subject to change based on market and other conditions without notice and may differ from other investment affiliates or of the firm as a whole. These opinions are not intended to be a forecast of future events, a guarantee of future results or investment advice. The mention of any individual securities should neither constitute nor be construed as a recommendation to purchase or sell securities, and the information provided regarding such individual securities is not a sufficient basis upon which to make an investment decision.

Neither Legg Mason nor any officer or employee of Legg Mason accepts any liability whatsoever for any loss arising from any use of this document or its contents. The information in this document is confidential and proprietary and may not be used other than by the intended user. This document may not be reproduced, distributed or published without prior written permission from Legg Mason.

This document has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.

Issuer: Legg Mason Asset Management Hong Kong Limited.

Email

解讀投資者行為: 如何收窄期望與現實的差距

在過去五年,美盛環球投資調查致力量度全球投資者的投資脈搏。我們的目標是進一步了解投資者的期望與憂慮、理想的財務願景與現實,以及影響投資行為的因素,包括金融危機以至科技發展。

今年的調查結果發現投資者

  • 對未來的投資機會較為樂觀,但仍未擺脫環球金融危機的長期陰影
  • 越來越多投資者轉為利用科技協助理財及作出投資決定,但他們仍希望有專人從旁提供協助
  • 另一方面,投資者未能完全掌握安享舒適退休生活需要多少資金,但認為尚未達到目標。

今年的調查訪問了來自歐洲、亞太區、拉丁美洲和美國17個國家/市場共15,300名投資者,確保樣本具代表性,可反映每個國家的人口。

這項調查計劃將從環球及國家/市場層面探討2017年的三個關鍵主題-

  • 「觀感與現實」;
  • 「人類與機器」及
  • 「年輕與經驗」。

我們的目標不但是深入剖析投資者的動機、偏好和行為,同時亦會探討投資者必須面對的急速變化的世界。

觀感與現實:憂慮驅動投資行為?

投資必須是在承擔風險以取得期望回報,與保持審慎以保障資本兩者之間取得平衡。關鍵在於尋求適當的平衡點,而投資者的平衡點各有不同。

但我們的調查發現投資者的觀感與現實狀況之間存在令人憂慮的差距,通常是投資者低估所承受的風險水平。由於不少投資者在環球金融危機期間蒙受巨大損失,故保持審慎也不無道理。隨著市場復蘇,投資者現時的風險反而是未能把握當前機會,因而削弱其取得長期強勁回報的潛力。

我們在此探討投資者的觀感 - 影響他們的偏好、影響行為的因素,以及投資決定的實況。



金融危機及隨後的經濟衰退,有影響您的儲蓄及投資決定嗎?

  • 仍然深受影響
  • 仍然略受影響
  • 完全不受影響
  • 不知道

事過境遷但難以忘懷

雖然目前是記憶中持續最長時間的牛市之一,但全球金融危機及隨之引發的大衰退或會永久改變投資者的思維。雖然千禧世代對前景感到樂觀,但他們現時的投資方式類似其大蕭條年代的祖父母多於其嬰兒潮父母。這些改變對未來環球金融市場有何影響?

閱覽

投資者表示承險意欲提升

市場在過去十年表現黯淡,投資者大多追求保本,以及投資於低收益甚或負收益債券。現時,投資者的承險意欲似乎開始回升:根據美盛環球投資調查的結果,高達37%的環球投資者計劃提高其投資組合的承險水平。然而,他們的焦點只是集中於環球投資領域的一小部份。

閱覽

您對未來12個月的投資前景感到樂觀嗎?(%)

Factoid

人類相對機器: 科技是否解決一切的靈丹妙藥?

日新月異的科技正在改變人類生活各方面。我們如何理財及作出投資決定,也難免受到這種科技發展趨勢所影響。

網上資訊及應用程式日趨普及。這有助我們管理資金,並根據演算法代替人為判斷進行產品投資,徹底改變個人理財和投資的面貌。

我們的調查發現,雖然越來越多投資者表明會利用科技,但他們亦期望能夠享獲專人服務。他們希望有專人從旁提供協助,指導其應用有關科技,以及提供機器無法取代的客戶服務。

我們在此探討人類與機器如何互相配合,以締造現今投資者所期望的用戶體驗和投資結果。


您同意以下的陳述嗎?

專人服務無可取替

大量投資業務趨向自動化,難免令客戶感到被冷待,因為大部份投資者作出重大投資決定時,均希望透過真人互動的方式獲取理財意見和協助。儘管不少投資者接受利用科技進行投資研究和交易執行等理財活動,但大多數人仍然傾向依賴純真人或以科技輔助的真人互動。出乎意料的是,雖然千禧世代一向被認定為於數碼時代中成長的一群,但他們的觀點亦與主流一致。

閱覽

科技競賽:新興市場領先已發展市場

在運用科技協助制定或執行投資決定方面,新興市場投資者,特別在亞洲千禧世代帶動下顯著領先。在急速轉變的環境下,科技輔助固然重要,但專業人員的意見也不容忽視。投資者認為專業意見永遠擁有存在價值。

閱覽

您有沒有使用網頁或應用程式以協助個人理財?(%)

Factoid

年輕與經驗: 千禧世代能否為退休生活作出較佳準備?

嬰兒潮世代一直被視為擁有一切,他們既受惠於股票與債券市場的多年升市,而且在房地產價格漲升至難以負擔水平之前已經置業,因而可乘房地產價格上漲之勢獲利。此外,他們也是界定權益退休金計劃的最後一批受益人,為他們提供安穩退休生活的保障。

對於X世代和千禧世代來說,安享舒適退休生活的目標似乎遙不可及,並須承受較大的財務目標壓力,例如償還學生貸款及實現置業目標。

然而,我們的調查發現,對於一些距離退休仍有一段時間的嬰兒潮投資者來說,即使他們已實現其人生目標,並獲得財務保障,他們表示仍有許多目標尚未實現,憂慮其收入不足以支持舒適的退休生活。

我們在此探討為何嬰兒潮投資者會陷於這種局面,他們應如何改善有關狀況,以及X世代和千禧世代如何避免墮入同樣的陷阱。


具體考慮個人退休生活後,您為自己定下甚麼目標? (%)

尚未實現 尚未實現
已經實現 已經實現
Airplane 0

周遊列國

Piggy bank 0

賺取可觀的退休收入

Bill 0

維持退休前的生活水平

Globe 0

移居海外

Palm tree 0

購置渡假屋

Coins 0

無債務負擔

Cardiogram 0

獲享優秀的醫護服務

Businessman 0

繼續工作/退而不休

Tree 0

擔任義工及從事慈善事業

Airplane 0

周遊列國

環球退休危機是否迫在眉睫?

全球專家均感慨投資者的儲蓄不足以應付退休生活,亦無承擔所需風險以收窄兩者差距。實際情況是否如此嚴峻?我們的環球投資調查顯示,界定供款計劃的儲蓄金額遠低於投資者日後生活需要的水平,但令人意外的是,除少數國家外,大部份國家的儲蓄情況均合符預期。

閱覽

退休無憂?

嬰兒潮世代在年輕時可能擁有一切,但其實當中大部份人士未能實現基本的退休目標。雖然年青人可以借鑑嬰兒潮世代的經驗,但他們面對的是一個截然不同的投資環境。他們必須把握年輕的優勢,即時行動。

閱覽

退休目標:確保無債務負擔

Factoid

香港觀察

承險意欲提升

香港投資者在未來12個月的承險意欲在全球排名第二。表示會「大幅調高風險水平」及「略為調高風險水平」的投資者分別佔11%及45%。

預期在未來12個月承受較高風險的投資者百分比

如何擺脫投資的悲觀情緒

香港投資者的獨特之處,是其投資股票的比重高於亞洲和全球平均,而且取態比一般較為進取。然而,香港投資者對來年投資表現感到悲觀。這是否由於缺乏有效的分散風險?

閱覽

背景及研究方法

市場 樣本規模
美國 總計:數目=900
高資產淨值:數目=275
歐洲(英國、法國、西班牙、意大利、德國、瑞士、比利時、瑞典) 總計:數目=7,200
高資產淨值:數目=1,371
亞洲(香港、新加坡、日本、台灣、中國) 總計:數目=4,500
高資產淨值:數目=1,230
拉丁美洲(巴西、墨西哥) 總計:數目=1,800
高資產淨值:數目=260
澳洲 總計:數目=900
高資產淨值:數目=306

今年,我們對17個國家/市場(包括歐洲、亞太區、拉丁美洲和美國)的15,300名投資者進行了調查,依據各國人口基數來確定取樣數量。受訪對像是年齡範圍在18至74歲、擁有固定收入、能夠對家庭投資進行獨立或共同決策的在職或退休人士。是次研究的問卷調查於2017年1月12日至2017年2月10日期間透過網上平台進行。是次調查樣本中,3,442名受訪者為高資產淨值人士 — 調查所界定的美國高資產淨值人士為擁有225,000美元以上可投資資產,個別國家/市場的水平同等。是次調查對三個年齡組別的受訪者進行均勻取樣:包括5,116名千禧世代(18至35歲)、4,898名X世代(36至52歲)以及4,925名嬰兒潮世代(53至71歲)。

Cicero Research:

此項研究由Cicero Research進行。Cicero Research是一家領先的顧問公司,為金融和專業服務領域的客戶提供服務。Cicero擅長提供綜合公共政策及傳訊諮詢服務、環球思想領袖計劃及獨立市場研究。Cicero於2001年成立,目前在倫敦和布魯塞爾設有辦事處。網頁:http://cicero-group.com/

重要資訊

資料來源:美盛環球資產管理。本文件只作參考用途,不應被視作投資建議。所有數據、意見、預測及其他資料以截至本文日期為依據,並可作隨時修改而不會另行通知。文中所引用的過往表現並不預示未來業績。本文件並不構成要約或招攬投資者認購或出售基金單位,欲認購基金單位的投資者須參閱最近期的銷售文件。投資附帶風險,投資者應仔細閱讀銷售文件,以獲取進一步資料,包括風險因素。

本文件提及的所有意見均為投資組合經理截至本文日期的判斷,或會因市場或其他因素而隨時改變,投資組合經理與公司整體的觀點或有不同。本文所載的意見並不預示未來,亦不保證未來業績或用作投資建議。本文所提及的任何證券並不構成賣買證券的建議,而有關證券的資料並不足以用作制定投資決策。

美盛香港及/或其關聯公司、高級職員或員工(總稱「美盛」)不負責任何因使用本文或其內容而引起的損失。本文件乃保密和屬專有信息,除預期使用者外不得使用。本文件在未得到美盛的書面同意下不得以任何方式複製、派發或發表。

本文件並未經證券及期貨事務監察委員會審核。

發行人:美盛資產管理香港有限公司。